Skip to main content

Eating an elephant

How do you eat an elephant? One bite at the time! And last Thursday I took my first little bite. I got hired as an intern at a French restaurant and boutique hotel! Even though I am already cooking for almost 30 years now, I am officially at the start of my career as a professional chef, with small changes of getting hired as a cook in any restaurant other than the local bar, preparing burgers and fries all day.

While my goal is to run my own boutique hotel and restaurant in Portugal in 2035, I thought I might as well start living my dream in the NOW. I’m very grateful that I got this opportunity from the owners, who loved my story and want to support me in fulfilling my dream.

The deal is that I work for free on Thursdays and when needed work extra as a freelancer. Money is not my main concern, it’s learning how to work in a professional kitchen, preparing multiple courses with a French basis. I’m grateful that I can finally start to make the 10yearsplan a reality.

And will keep you posted about my journey!

Comments